A Legacy of Czech Music at 92Y
8:30 PM20:30

A Legacy of Czech Music at 92Y

Part of the new SoundScape series at the 92nd Street Y

Daedalus Quartet
With pianist Deborah Bradley-Kramer and other members of SPEAKmusic

MARTINŮ: Fantasie for Theremin, Oboe, Piano and Strings
ULLMANN: String Quartet No. 3
ELIŠKA CÍLKOVÁ: New work inspired by the work of writer Jiří Pick (world premiere)
KALABIS: String Quartet No 5, Op. 63, “In Memory of Marc Chagall”
JEŽEK:  Bugatti Step

Post-concert talk with Deborah Bradley-Kramer of SPEAKmusic and Zuzana Justman, sister of Jiří Pick

SPEAKmusic is joined by the Daedalus String Quartet in presenting extraordinary music from the Czech region over the last 80 years. This program presents music by Czech composers who suffered under Nazis or Communist regimes—or both—and yet wrote often-exuberant music filled with the creative spirit. One work was written in a concentration camp, others written in exile, and some were lucky to have survived; they all deserve to be heard often. And honoring that legacy, a young Fullbright Scholar at Columbia has written music inspired by a Czech writer who mocked the Communist system.

92Y logo is © 2015 92nd Street Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association.

View Event →